maandag 6 september 2010

Chess Olympiad 2010: The town Khanty Mansiysk Russia

Flag and Emblem of the town of Khanty-Mansiysk
The flag of the town of Khanty-Mansiysk is a rectangular width divided horizontally into three equal stripes (the upper stripe is blue; the central stripe is white; the lower stripe is green) with the element in the left upper part of the composition representing the white bird (white crane) with the outspread wings taken from the emblem of the town of Khanty-Mansiysk. Opposite the blue background, above the white bird there are three white flakes of snow.

History of Khanty Mansiysk

In 1637 the Samarovsky Yam was founded on the right bank of the Irtysh River not far from its falling into the Ob River. The settlement of Samarovo and then the town of Khanty-Mansiysk originated from that place. It was located in the picturesque place at the foot of steep mountains with the thick cedar forest growing on them. The first residents of Samarovo were 50 horse-drivers with their families moved from the Perm, Vologda and Olonetsky Regions. After them other emigrants moved to Samarovo.  For winter the local population salted mushrooms, picked up berries.

After the appearance of steamship company the settlement got the broad development. In the 60s of the XIX century Samarovo turned into a big quay where ways of steamers of the Tyumen-Tomsk system and vessels of fishermen of the Ob and Irtysh Rivers crossed. It became a big trade center.
In 1912 in the settlement there were 398 men and 427 women. There were three chapels, a church, a parochial school, a reading-house, three inns, a grog shop, a tea house, 6 trade shops, post and public stations, a small blacksmith’s shop.

In 1935 the road construction was developed in the Okrug center. The first tractor was received to stub up the road connecting Ostyako-Vogulsk with Samarovo. In 1938 the road was pebbled. In 1937-1941 the electric power station, a saw mill were put into operation in the settlement; in the southern part of Samarovo - mechanical shops. Air route Tyumen-Tobolsk-Samarovo-Beryezovo-Salekhard connected the Okrug center with other towns.

In March of 1936 the first elections to the local Soviet of Workers’ Deputies were held. It functioned till 1950.

In 1940 the settlement of Ostyako-Vogulsk was renamed and got the name of Khanty-Mansiysk, and in 1950 it gained the status of the town. Samarovo was joined to it. New houses grew, new streets appeared, enterprises developed in the town.

At present a little remind of those old days. The town is developing rapidly and is formed not only as a center of oil district, but is becoming a center of business activity, great sports, national culture.

The town of Khanty-Mansiysk has its own unique features: it has a lot of plants and trees, it is surrounded by forests and a wandering band of the Irtysh River, it has its specific architecture. The small town has a great history and great perspectives. In some places forestry touches the dwelling districts, creating the original look of the town landscape.

Khanty-Mansiysk, placed in the place of junction of two great rivers Ob and Irtysh and on seven hills, covered with coniferous forest is a peculiarity which is attractive for tourists.

At present Khanty-Mansiysk is developing as a center of economy management of the vast territory and huge natural resources potential. Centers of information processing, communication centers, financial institutions of the Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug are concentrated there.

images Khanty Mansiysk

Geen opmerkingen:

Een reactie posten